2015 Super Saturday Series – Round 1

Crikey, 132 riders. It’s only round 1. Looks like it’s going to be a great series and round 1 got it all off to a amazing start. With lots of riders stepping into the expert category after last year it was going to be interesting to see how they would fare but with riders coming from far and wide competition was hot even if the weather was a bit chilly. Apologies if you don’t get a mention but there are way too many.

As usual then it is the little uns where we start and the 6 and under novices. 6 guys took to the track and no doubt that Josh Slater was the star of the day showing how rad he is by taking 4 wins from 4. Meanwhile behind places swapped between Devon Brokenbrow, James Warren, Lexi Waite who didn’t let the boys have it all their own way, Lucas Harris and James Rowley.
11 riders in the 7-8s and again places were swapping in some good race action but it was Max Allen who took the win from Joshua Harris and Kyal Smith.

In the 9-10 novices it was Connor Lunn-Squires who took the win from Alex Pritchard with results again swapping showing how tight these classes are. Special mention to Isobel Hurst and Amelia Beston who took on the boys.

It was grand prix for the 11-12 novices with Jack Francis eventually claiming top spot ahead of the impressive looking Iwan Brisbane and Louie Ellis.

With so many 30+ novices in last year’s series it was amazing to see 8 taking to the gate this time round . With Adam Wilks taking four wins the action was behind where Mark Whitehead led the chase ahead of Andy Unsworth and Tim Doyle.

A big well done to all the novices especially those who rode in their first race. Hope you all enjoyed it.

Onto the experts then and some strong fields with many riders moving up to expert from last year. So 6 and under boys then and it was Eben Cousin who led the way from a hard chasing Felix Lopez and Theo Rowles. Coming home 4th was Laurie Anne Carruthers battling it out with the boys and pipped Oliver Unsworth.
7-8 girls was mixed with 9-10 and was dominated by Ava Brown who took all four wins ahead of Alexis Beston, Alesha Allen, Kaylen Davies and the ever smiling Millie Tanner.

Flyin Flynn Drelincourt dominated the 7-8 boys but was chased all the way by the ever improving James Criddle and Oakley Kettle. Rounding out the class were Tyler McHugh, Sam Tucker Edward Rowley and Jacob Hughes.

13 guys hit the track in the 9-10 boys and some close racing in every moto made it a great class to watch. Curtis Sveikutis took the win in a great final ahead of a hard charging Harry Tanner and W5 Felix Twitchett. Coming home 4th was Liam Doyle who is really starting to show some great form. Some great performances too from those stepping up into expert. With Christopher Atkinson, Tyler Kendall and Taylor Yardley coming home next. Sadly a tumble and a damaged finger for Aaron Davy left him to finish 8th. Hopefully nothing too serious Aaron. Alex Heaven took the B final win from Elijah Shearer, James Furness, Cameron Richards Cooper and Tom Brookes.

A full 16 riders in the 11-12 boys and Ethan Duffy showed his class and track knowledge to take the win from Chad Hartwell, Oliver Cope and Will Blevins. Harrison Drelincourt looking good on his cruiser took the B final win and a great effort from both Toby Allen and Theo Borzsony moving into expert and taking on some big names. Well done guys.

11-12-13-14 girls was dominated by Hannah Baker who is really looking hungrier and faster each time with Molly Shearer clinching second spot from Robyn Paton. Meanwhile Katy Cosgrove won the battle of the 11-12s from Sophie Piatt and Katy really chased the older girls hard.

15-16 boys was mixed with the 13-14s and it brought some great racing. Out front Tom Garner took the final win from Charlie Yates who had had the edge in the motos with great close racing from the pair all day with Joe Cotton joining in the fun in third place. Luke Pritchard took 5th in his first expert race recovering after a spill in the first moto. Top of the 13-14s for MBMX was Ben Cotton who made the A final and picked up 7th spot just behind Alex Rhodes.

One of the most competitive classes is 15-16 and 17-29 girls. It looked like it was going to be dominated by an on fire Nicole Whyne who took the first two wins but Courtney Heaney battled back to take the last two wins but Nicole took the win on the day. As always there were places swapping and Maisie Kendall held on for third in some wheel to wheel action (literally) from Olivia Blevins who took a fall while leading the last moto. Unlucky Olivia and healin vibes.

Big thanks to guys from GET racing for turning out in force and certainly led the way in the 17-29s with TJ Yates taking the win from Kody Evans and our very own Ricardo Addymellor. Taking 4th was the coach himself Rob Hawker showing he does know what he is talking about.

So to 30+men and a mix of experience with some seasoned pros and many stepping up from last year. Dylan Jackson just had a little too much in his dual with Jamie Duffy with Nigel Smith joining in the action at the front. Also joining in the fun in 5th was our other coach Fred Barlow who showed he has still got it. Fred was joined in the A final by Alistair Rowley, Felix Lopez and Adam Hill, not forgetting Rob Beere who took 4th. Adrian Kendall took the B final win from Ian McDowell and Algis Sveikutis. Great to see Marc Holmes back in action and a very good performance took him to 4th in the B final ahead of the duelling duo of Adam Yates and Sean Piatt who battled all day with Adam having the edge on the day.

So round 1 done, despite the cold it was a great day. Thanks to all the riders and the people that came down to support and made the atmosphere so good. A huge huge mention to the admin team who made the whole thing work with such big numbers. Some great rides and some great battles but rider of the day goes to Josh Slater who was just great.

See you at the next one.